Twitter: It’s not the worst thing that ever happened.

Now, let me begin by saying, I never would have believed you if you’d told me this a year ago. But if you follow me (twitter.com/aliceozma), you may have noticed- I have been using it with some frequency.

So I’ll come right out and say it:

Lately, secretly- I have come to like twitter.


Not love, but like. Not Scout and Atticus, but maybe Ramona and Beezus. And I know this may seem weird, coming from a girl who gave a speech that, while touting the importance of reading, also took a few swipes at the good old interwebs. Didn’t catch all the riveting, nerdy goodness at ALA Midwinter (the American Library Association’s January conference)? Check it out on Youtube.

— by the way, the conference was absolutely lovely, and it was my first time on the West Coast. San Diego was tons of fun, and the people at the conference were incredibly friendly. My boyfriend Dan and I took a train to Disneyland (he is a huge Disney buff) and THIS was our view from the window:

ahhhh, heaven.

this actually might not be san diego, since we were on a train. but it is darn near it.

Cool, huh? Thanks for inviting me, CA!

Anyway, so I made this speech all about backing down from the internet, but in the speech, I said it does have practical purposes. And I found one, which should have been more obvious than it was to me:

On the internet, you can make friends with people you never even would have met otherwise.

Really! Nice, funny, smart people who have great insights and say amusing things. Now, I may never meet some of these people. I get that. But does that mean they’re not real friends? My inclination is no. My best friend and I haven’t lived in the same state for 5 years now- we are essentially pen pals. But that doesn’t mean that I love her any less. Maybe the internet is full of pen pals. And twitter, I have found, gives you a nice opportunity to shop around- if you don’t like someone as much as you may have thought, you haven’t made a commitment. You didn’t send away your $30 in allowance money to get a foreign pen pal only to end up with a boy in Wisconsin who wrote you a half page letter and never sent anything again (still a little bitter).

So Twitter is not so bad, and the people on it appear to be real people. For the most part. And maybe some day you can all come over to my house for a dinner party. Tonight I made crispy corn bread chicken with a garlic-almond mayonnaise. It was very good- you guys would have liked it.

Good. I am glad that you could be a part of that little internal debate.

In my next post, I’ll tell you a little about my favorite bookstore-  an awesome “little” place less than an hour from my apartment. Set money aside for your train/plane tickets now- you’re going to want to visit.

Published in: on March 6, 2011 at 4:59 am  Comments (2)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://aliceozma.wordpress.com/2011/03/06/twitter-its-not-the-worst-thing-that-ever-happened/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Hi Alice,
    I hope your Dad had a great Father’s Day—he deserves it.
    In addition to being a great Father to you and your sister,
    I’m sure he was a father figure to many of his students.

    I can’t wait to hear your favorite bookstore, I LOVE book-
    stores. Have you ever been to The Strand used bookstore
    in NYC? It’s great!

    Patricia

    • We LOVE the Strand!


Leave a Reply

