Welcome to my blog! And other fun.

Hello Internet!

Welcome to my blog! My name is Alice Ozma, and I am the author of The Reading Promise. What is The Reading Promise, you ask? Well, it’s a book (available here) that came about because of an article (which can be read here), all about one thing:

My father read to me, every night, without missing a night, from the time I was 9 until my first day of college- 3,218 nights. We read everything from the Oz series to Shakespeare, and in my book I discuss how this brought us together and made me the person I am today- a quirky, happy, bibliophile who loves her father more than anything else in the world.

I’ve been meaning to start my blog for awhile, but today seemed like the perfect day because of two wonderful things: I got a fantastic review, and I booked the site for my book launch!

First, the review. Publishers Weekly writes:
“Ozma’s work is humorous, generous, and warmly felt, and with a terrific reading list included, there is no better argument for the benefits of reading to a child than this rich, imaginative work.”

If that doesn’t give a writer goosebumps (and a bit of a churning stomach) I don’t know what would. It’s so kind, it almost seems unreal- this whole experience  has seemed like a dream, and a review like that certainly doesn’t make me feel any more grounded in reality. I was also really pleased because it discusses the writing- initially, I was (still am, really) concerned that while people might respond to our story, my writing might not be up to snuff. This review gives me hope that I might just be harsh on myself. That remains to be seen, though.

Second, Rowan University, my alma matter, will officially host the launch of my book!

Though other options were still being thrown around when I visited my publisher last week (Grand Central, part of Hachette), I knew deep down that anywhere other than Rowan just wouldn’t feel right (full disclosure: I am only 22, and graduated less than a year ago… Rowan is still very close to my heart). But the details were finalized today, and I will be signing, chatting, and smiling my head off at 7pm on May 3rd in the Rowan Barnes and Noble (Glassboro, NJ). I hope some of you can come… I think it will be really fun. I imagine this is the career equivalent of a wedding day, so maybe I’ll wear white!

This entry is already getting away with itself, so I’ll wait until a later post to tell you what it’s like to go from studying for midterms to signing a book deal within one week… but as you can imagine, it’s been a rather crazy journey.

I’m glad to have you along, and I hope you’ll excuse me if I talk about my cats, or baseball, or my love for interior decorating as often as I talk about my book. That’s who I am, and I hope you’ll be my friend.

Published in: on February 25, 2011 at 12:05 am  Comments (11)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://aliceozma.wordpress.com/2011/02/25/first-post/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

11 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I am always glad to hear about other people reading aloud to their children – especially children that are old enough to read to themselves. Most people drop the “read aloud time” when their kids start school. Why? Because it is time consuming. Is it worth the time commitment? Absolutely!
    We started reading aloud to our kids when they were just days old and still continue reading aloud daily even though they are preteens.
    Can’t wait to read your book.

    • Thanks Jennifer! Yes, you are absolutely right. Being read to is fantastic at any age.

  2. Dear Alice,
    I work at a little bookstore in California- we are captivated by your book! If you were to say just a few words to those intimidated by reading a ‘streak’ what would you say?
    All best wishes for your book and job search!
    Claire

    • I love this question! First, read the book! I am very honest about the challenges you will face, and I (think I) provide some helpful insights on getting past them, at least within the framework of our story. Take it one night at a time, try to read at the same time every night, and start a long series! With a long series, you’ll practically have no choice but to keep going!

  3. I am so glad there are other dedicated parents who are so dedicated to their children to take the time to read to them every night. I myself have read to my son from the day he came back from the hospital from birth up to, I think, about 4th grade. When he could read, I let him read to me and we continued our reading time together even after I became a single mom putting myself thru college. He loves reading and he says his “greatest punishment I can give him is not letting him read”. He is now 13 years old. He loves and studies words and languages and is teaching himself all kinds of languages (even Klingon), and he wants to invent his own language. I agree, think reading starting at any age, and reading anything is better than not reading at all. I applause your father! I am curious to find out the results of other children who are/were read to over long periods of time, what is their outcome in their career choices and their personalities. Soothing words soothes the soul – can reading also help troubled children? For sure, you have become a writer telling an important story that will influence more parents to read to their children. Who else can tell their stories? All the best to your writing career and career search!
    Dee

    • I’d love to invent my own language! What a fun idea. This boy is going places!

  4. I loved the book. Now reading The Wizard of Oz. Not sure if it would cut it with the children today as i have the images from the wonderful film. A blog is a good place to be just relax and enjoy.

  5. I read your book and immediately had to tell my brother about it. We were raised by parents that loved to read and passed that on to us but the part about your dad finding a book for everything that came up in life was so true. There is a book to deal with just about everything and how sad if a person does not use that tool. Enjoyed your book, it is the kind that you keep thinking about for a long time after. Your dad seems like a great man.

  6. Alice,

    I just finished your book. It was so thought provoking and enjoyable. Your Father seems like an amazing person.

  7. I just finished your book today and, just like The Streak, I was dreading having it come to an end. I like it a lot in the beginning, but by the end I just loved it! And of course I love your dad – what an AWESOME man and father. I hope you both know what a difference you’re sure to have made in so many children’s lives, and their children’s, too. Please tell your father thank you from all of us, for reading to you. And thank you for sharing your beautiful story! I love the way this story ends – what you both are doing now. It’s hard to imagine any other way, right?! Good luck with your new job and I predict a wonderful career for you!

    • Oh, and I forgot to mention that your book is now sitting on my bookshelf next to Jim Trelease’s “Read-Aloud Handbook”, my favorite book ever!


Leave a Reply

